Securities Lending

Earn extra income from the securities you already own


COMING SOON
 

Discover a new source of passive income

Securities Lending is a free service offering an additional way to generate revenue from your existing portfolio. Just let Swissquote lend your securities to institutions who are looking to borrow them, and receive your share of the generated revenue.

Have your cake, and eat it too!
_

Retain beneficial ownership

You will still receive dividends or substitute dividends. You can sell your securities at any time.
 

Absolute peace of
mind
_

We do the work of finding suitable borrowers for your securities, and we deposit any revenue to your account once a month. We only lend your securities to reputable, top tier institutions and keep at least 105% collateral for your protection.

How much can you earn?
_

Securities lending is demand-driven: the chances to match with borrowers and the potential earnings can vary greatly depending on the borrower and the market demand for any given security.

The gross return rate for loaned securities ranges from 0.5% to over 4% for any given loan.
 

This example provides hypothetical returns and does not guarantee future results. It is for illustrative purposes only and should not be considered a personalised recommendation or investment advice.

4-lending.png

Frequently asked questions
_

Why should I participate in securities lending?

Securities lending offers additional returns, over and above the returns generated by the general performance of the portfolio.

Can I still sell and profit from my securities when they are on loan?

Yes, you retain full control of your loaned securities. You can sell them anytime, without any hassle. You will receive any revenue earned while the security was on loan, including dividends in the form of cash payments.

Will participating in the program limit my day-to-day investment activity?

No. As a client you will not notice any difference in your investments and trading activities while your securities are on loan (except for the lending revenue deposited monthly into your account).

Are there any costs related to this service?

The service is free and will not cost you anything.

When we lend your securities, we do incur some operational costs. The income you receive will be based on when and for how long your securities were on loan, and paid to you net of these costs.

How do I sign up?

It is not possible to sign up for this service just yet.

The first time you log into the eTrading platform after we launch Securities Lending (scheduled November 2022), you will be asked to agree to the specific terms for the service. Once done, you can enable or disable this at will with a simple switch in the Securities Lending section of our platform.

Who will borrow my securities and why?

We only lend to reputable, top-tier banks and financial institutions, who often borrow securities to ensure the smooth running of capital markets. For instance, they may be looking to borrow securities to help ensure the timely settlement of trades or simply to use them as collateral.

Can I choose which stocks to lend?

No, you can only choose to activate the Securities Lending service for the entirety of your portfolio. Also, remember that there is no guarantee that we will be able to find a borrower for your securities.

Which types of assets are eligible for the Securities Lending service?

Stocks, as well as some ETFs and bonds are currently eligible for lending. We are planning to make the service available for more instruments in the future.

Will all securities in my portfolio be loaned out?

It is very unlikely. Securities Lending is demand-driven, so Swissquote cannot guarantee that it will find borrowers interested in your securities. Remember that general securities with a liquid supply are usually in low demand, while rarer products with a limited supply have a greater potential to be loaned out and yield greater returns.

What happens once a security is on loan?

If any of your securities are loaned out, we will deposit the revenue directly into your account once each month, and you will receive monthly statements in the Documents section of your account, showing which securities were loaned and how much income each loan generated for you.

Who decides when a stock loan ends?

The duration of the loan depends on the borrower, and the market demand for your securities. Of course, if you decide to sell a security or disable the service in the Securities Lending section of the eTrading platform, your security will be recalled, and you will cease to accrue revenue in that position.

What happens when I sell a security that is on loan?

We will recall your sold securities in time for settlement. You will keep any lending revenue you earned up until the recall.

Are there any risks or downsides to lending my securities?

There are some downsides which may make this service unsuitable for certain investor profiles. Here’s a summary of the main drawbacks:

  • When shares are out on loan, you temporarily lose the right to vote, for instance at the annual general meeting of the issuing company.
  • You may receive cash payments in lieu of dividends on loaned securities.
  • Borrower default is extremely unlikely, as all borrowers are tier-1 banks. This means that they have very strong capital reserves. In the very unlikely event that a borrower does default, and if Swissquote is unable to return the loaned securities, Swissquote will compensate you by using the collateral

See the terms and conditions for more detailed information.

Are there any other downsides to lending my securities?

Most clients will not notice any difference in their investments and trading activities while their securities are on loan (except for the lending revenue deposited monthly into their account!). However, there are some downsides which may make this service unsuitable for certain investor profiles.

You may temporarily lose the right to vote granted by shares on loan, for instance at the annual general meeting of the issuing company. However, the bank may, at its sole discretion, recall positions prior to important corporate actions.

While we will endeavour to recall loans before the ex-date of any dividend, you may, from time to time, also receive cash payments in lieu of dividends for loaned securities. Such income may be taxed differently, and you should consult a tax professional if you need guidance on how to report such income.

See the terms and conditions for more detailed information.

Where can I see my lending revenue?

You will receive monthly statements on your lending revenue in the Documents section of your account.

I have enabled Securities Lending but am not receiving any revenue reports, why?

The most likely reason that you are not receiving reports is simply that we could not find any borrowers for your securities. Remember that securities lending is demand-driven, and we do not guarantee that we can find a match for your securities. However, if you have any doubts, do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Centre.

Wertpapierleihe

Verdienen Sie mehr an Ihren Wertpapierbeständen


DEMNÄCHST
 

Entdecken Sie eine neue Quelle für passives Einkommen

Die Wertpapierleihe ist ein kostenloser Service, der Ihnen eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit bietet, Einnahmen aus Ihrem bestehenden Portfolio zu generieren. Lassen Sie Swissquote Ihre Wertpapiere an Institutionen ausleihen, die sie benötigen, und Sie erhalten Ihren Anteil an den erzielten Renditen.

Schlagen Sie zwei Fliegen mit einer Klappe!
_

Sie bleiben wirtschaftlicher Eigentümer

Sie erhalten nach wie vor Dividenden oder Ersatzzahlungen. Sie können Ihre Wertpapiere auch jederzeit verkaufen.

 

Ein absolut sicheres
Gefühl
_

Wir kümmern uns um die Suche nach geeigneten Leihnehmern für Ihre Wertpapiere und überweisen einmal monatlich die allfällige Rendite auf Ihr Konto. Wir verleihen Ihre Wertpapiere nur an renommierte, erstklassig bewertete Institutionen und halten zu Ihrem Schutz mindestens 105% an Sicherheiten.

Wie viel können Sie verdienen?
_

Die Wertpapierleihe orientiert sich an der Nachfrage: Die Chancen, einen passenden Leihnehmer zu finden, können sehr stark variieren, ebenso wie die potenziellen Einnahmen. Dies hängt von der Leihnehmer- und Marktnachfrage nach dem jeweiligen Papier ab.

Die Bruttorendite für ausgeliehene Wertpapiere bewegt sich je nach Leihgeschäft zwischen 0.5% und über 4%.
 

Dieses Beispiel stellt hypothetische Renditen dar und ist keine Garantie für zukünftige Ergebnisse. Es dient nur der Illustration und ist nicht als persönliche Empfehlung oder Anlageberatung zu verstehen.

4-lending.png

Häufig gestellte Fragen
_

Warum sollte ich an der Wertpapierleihe teilnehmen?

Die Wertpapierleihe sorgt für ein Einkommen zusätzlich zur Rendite, die sich aus der allgemeinen Performance des Portfolios ergibt.

Kann ich meine Wertpapiere verkaufen und von ihnen profitieren, wenn sie ausgeliehen sind?

Ja, Sie behalten die Kontrolle über Ihre ausgeliehenen Wertpapiere. Sie können sie jederzeit problemlos verkaufen. Sie erhalten alle Einkünfte, die durch die Wertpapierleihe eingenommen wurden, auch Dividenden in Form von Barausschüttungen.

Schränkt die Teilnahme am Programm meine Anlagetätigkeit im Alltag ein?

Nein. Als Kunde bemerken Sie keinen Unterschied in Ihren Anlage- und Handelsgeschäften, während Ihre Wertpapiere ausgeliehen sind (bis auf den Ertrag aus der Leihe, die Ihrem Konto monatlich gutgeschrieben wird).

Sind Kosten damit verbunden?

Wenn wir Ihre Wertpapiere verleihen, entstehen uns Betriebskosten.

Das Einkommen, das Sie erhalten, beruht darauf, wann und wie lang Ihre Wertpapiere ausgeliehen waren. Es wird Ihnen abzüglich der Kosten ausgezahlt.

Wie melde ich mich an?

Momentan ist es noch nicht möglich, sich für diesen Service anzumelden.

Wenn Sie sich nach der Einführung der Wertpapierleihe (geplant für November 2022) zum ersten Mal auf der eTrading-Plattform einloggen, werden Sie gebeten, den spezifischen Nutzungsbedingungen zuzustimmen. Wenn das erledigt ist, können Sie den Service je nach Wunsch unter dem Abschnitt Wertpapierleihe unserer Plattform aktivieren oder deaktivieren.

Wer leiht sich meine Wertpapiere und warum?

Wir verleihen nur erstklassigen Banken und Finanzinstituten mit gutem Ruf, die oft Wertpapiere leihen, um das störungsfreie Funktionieren der Kapitalmärkte sicherzustellen. Sie wollen beispielsweise Wertpapiere ausleihen, um die rechtzeitige Abrechnung von Handelsgeschäften zu gewährleisten oder sie als Sicherheiten zu benutzen.

Kann ich wählen, welche Wertpapiere ich verleihe?

Nein, Sie können nur die Wertpapierleihe für ihr gesamtes Portfolio wählen. Zudem können wir nicht gewährleisten, dass wir einen Entleiher für Ihre Wertpapiere finden können.

Welche Wertpapierarten sind für die Wertpapierleihe zulässig?

Für die Wertpapierleihe zulässig sind derzeit Aktien, einige ETF und Anleihen. In Zukunft sollen mehr Instrumente von diesem Service profitieren können.

Werden alle Wertpapiere in meinem Portfolio ausgeliehen?

Das ist sehr unwahrscheinlich. Die Wertpapierleihe hängt von der Nachfrage ab, deshalb kann Swissquote nicht gewährleisten, dass sich Entleiher für Ihre Wertpapiere interessieren. Wertpapiere mit liquidem Angebot werden meistens wenigster stark nachgefragt, während seltenere Wertpapiere eher ausgeliehen werden und eine höhere Rendite erzielen.

Was passiert, wenn ich ein Wertpapier verkaufe, das ausgeliehen ist?

Wir rufen Ihre verkauften Wertpapiere rechtzeitig für die Abrechnung zurück. Sie erhalten das Einkommen, das Sie bis zum Rückruf verdienen.

Wer entscheidet, wann eine Wertpapierleihe endet?

Die Dauer der Wertpapierleihe hängt vom Entleiher und der Marktnachfrage für Ihre Wertpapiere ab. Wenn Sie ein Wertpapier verkaufen oder die Wertpapierleihe auf der eTrading Plattform deaktivieren, wird diesem Posten kein Einkommen mehr gutgeschrieben.

Was passiert, wenn ich ein Wertpapier verkaufe, während es verliehen ist?

Wir rufen Ihre verkauften Wertpapiere rechtzeitig für die Abrechnung zurück. Sie erhalten das Einkommen, das Sie bis zum Rückruf verdienen.

Welche Risiken sind mit der Wertpapierleihe verbunden?

Es gibt einige Nachteile, deshalb eignet sich die Wertpapierleihe für bestimmte Anlegerprofile nicht. Hier eine zusammenfassende Liste:

  • Wenn Ihre Aktien ausgeliehen werden, verlieren Sie vorübergehend das Stimmrecht, beispielsweise anlässlich der Generalversammlung des Emittenten.
  • Auf ausgeliehene Wertpapiere könnten Sie Barzahlungen statt Dividenden erhalten.
  • Der Ausfall eines Entleihers ist sehr unwahrscheinlich, da alle Entleiher erstklassige Banken sind. Das bedeutet, dass sie sehr hohe Kapitalreserven haben. Falls dennoch ein Entleiher ausfällt und Swissquote die ausgeliehenen Wertpapiere nicht zurückgeben kann, entschädigt Swissquote Sie mittels der Sicherheiten, die vorab für alle Leihen gestellt werden.

Nähere Informationen finden Sie in den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Gibt es weitere Nachteile, wenn ich meine Wertpapiere verleihe?

Die meisten Kundinnen und Kunden werden keinen Unterschied in ihren Anlage- und Trading-Aktivitäten bemerken, während ihre Wertpapiere ausgeliehen sind (abgesehen von der monatlichen Gutschrift der Ausleihe-Renditen auf ihrem Konto!). Es gibt jedoch einige Nachteile, aufgrund derer sich dieser Service für bestimmte Anlegerprofile wahrscheinlich nicht eignet.

Sie verlieren möglicherweise vorübergehend Ihr Stimmrecht auf die verliehenen Aktien, zum Beispiel an der jährlichen Generalversammlung des ausgebenden Unternehmens. Die Bank kann jedoch nach eigenem Ermessen vor wichtigen Kapitalmassnahmen Positionen zurückrufen.

Wir sind zwar bestrebt, Leihen vor dem Ex-Datum der Dividende zurückzurufen, doch es ist möglich, dass Sie gelegentlich auch Barzahlungen anstelle der Dividenden für Ihre ausgeliehenen Wertpapiere erhalten. Diese Art von Einnahmen wird möglicherweise anders besteuert. Bitte wenden Sie sich an eine Steuerfachperson, wenn Sie Beratung zur Meldung solcher Einkünfte benötigen.

Nähere Informationen finden Sie in den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Wo kann ich meine Renditen aus dem Leihgeschäft einsehen?

Unter dem Abschnitt Dokumente in Ihrem Konto erhalten Sie einen monatlichen Auszug zu Ihren Renditen aus dem Verleih.

Ich habe die Wertpapierleihe aktiviert, erhalte aber keine Renditeauszüge. Warum?

Der wahrscheinlichste Grund dafür, dass Sie keine Auszüge erhalten, ist schlicht, dass wir keine Leihnehmer für Ihre Wertpapiere gefunden haben. Denken Sie daran, dass die Wertpapierleihe von der Nachfrage abhängig ist. Wir können nicht garantieren, dass wir einen geeigneten Interessenten für Ihre Wertpapiere finden. Wenden Sie sich bei Zweifeln jedoch gerne an unseren Kundendienst.